Hacking Around with D&D

I love the world of Pathfinder. They’ve done a great job creating a fully realized setting with interesting corners. The adventure path line is a blast, and saves me a ton of work.

Recently, though, when problems or slow-downs happen during my game, I’ve started thinking, “that wouldn’t have been a problem if we’d been playing 5th Edition D&D. I want my games to run smoothly, focus on character, and require fewer maps. Some of my players want fewer options, corner cases and traps.

I’ve decided that it’s time to combine the two: I want Pathfinder quality stories with 5th Edition rules. Paizo isn’t going to produce material for 5th Edition, and Wizards’ own adventures aren’t working for me. If I want this to happen, I’m going to have to hack it together myself.

The goal of this blog is to help me workshop some of my ideas, and collect them into one place for reference.

Right now, I’m preparing to run the Iron Gods adventure path, because I have fond memories of Thundar the Barbarian and Krull.

There are already excellent blogs converting Pathfinder content, and Iron Gods specifically, to 5th Edition, and I don’t want to re-do their good work. Instead, I’ll link to them when I need to and build on them when I can, and focus on my game.

My plan is to post new material twice a week, including conversions of races and classes and rules hacking to make the game more fun for my players.

Leave a Reply

